Hailin's Weblog

February 25, 2009

Congrats to David

Filed under: social — Hailin @ 7:05 pm

When my nephew David was four years old, I was a college junior in Beijing.  That year grandma accompanied him to travel to Beijing to apply for a visa to visit his dad, who was pursuing PhD in mining engineering at Virginia Tech.

Time sure flies.  13 years later, my brother Dr. Wu is a well recognized scientist in his field.  In 2004, I earned the very first PhD in computer science in University of Denver’s 145-year history.

David is graduating from high school this year, and has been accepted into CalTech, Stanford, Columbia. I wish he would choose Stanford, because it’s just the best.  I once attempted, unsuccessfully, to get into Stanford MBA program myself, despite the fact that I scored 740 (98th percentile) in GMAT.  Well, it’s all history, and as long as David is at Stanford, that should give me a good reason to visit the beautiful campus over some weekends!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

